Everything You Need to Know About CMMC Levels

CMMC Levels

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) and CMMC levels impacts more than 300,000 companies across the globe, and is rightfully becoming a topic of conversation for many companies, especially when it comes to implementing the various requirements that are necessary to complete before becoming certified.

In this blog, we’ll cover what CMMC is, what CMMC levels are, and how your business can become CMMC certified.

What Is CMMC?

CMMC is a security standard that was created by the Department of Defense (DoD) to protect contractor systems and information.  The CMMC standard covers five levels of cybersecurity maturity and is aimed at protecting contractor systems and data from cyber incidents.

The DoD created CMMC to address the increasing number of cyberattacks on government and contractor systems. The goal of CMMC is to ensure that contractors have a minimum level of cybersecurity protection in place and to reduce the risk of cyber incidents affecting government and contractor systems.

What Are CMMC Levels?

There are five CMMC levels, and each level reflects the contractor’s cybersecurity maturity and protection. Each level consists of a set of processes and practices, with the process ranging from “performed” at level 1, to “optimizing” at level 5.  The practices range from “basic cyber hygiene” at level 1 to advanced or progressive cybersecurity at level 5.

Basically, each level reflects a contractor’s increasing ability to protect their systems and data from cyberattacks. The higher the level, the more comprehensive and robust the contractor’s cybersecurity protection measures are.

CMMC Level 1

Processes:  Performed

At CMMC level 1, organizations are required to perform the specified practices. Although they are required to at least perform these practices, companies are not assessed for process maturity and documentation at level 1.

Practices: Basic Cyber hygiene

Cyber hygiene measures at this level include things such as installing antivirus software, updating software patches, and using strong passwords.

CMMC Level 2

Processes: Documented

Level 2 requires that an organization establish and document practices and policies to guide the implementation of its CMMC efforts. 

Practices: Intermediate Cyber Hygiene

Cyber hygiene measures at this level include things such as using two-factor authentication, encrypting data, and monitoring for malicious activity.

CMMC Level 3

Processes: Managed

Level 3 requires that an organization develop, implement, and manage a plan to identify areas for practice implementation of CMMC requirements.

Practices: Good Cyber Hygiene

Cyber hygiene measures at this level include things such as using intrusion detection/prevention systems, enforcing security controls, and conducting risk assessments.

CMMC Level 4

Processes: Reviewed

At CMMC level 4, an organization is required to review and measure practices for effectiveness.

Practices: Proactive Cyber

Cyber hygiene measures at this level include things such as using advanced analytics and artificial intelligence, whitelisting/blacklisting applications, and patch management.

CMMC Level 5

Processes: Optimizing

Level 5 requires that an organization standardize and optimize the implementation of processes throughout the company.

Practices: Advanced/Proactive

This level reflects an elite level of cybersecurity and includes additional security measures such as cloud security, data-at-rest encryption, and malware sandboxes.

How K2 Tech Group Can Help With CMMC Levels and Certification

K2 Tech Group can help your business become CMMC certified. We have experience with all five levels of the CMMC standard and can help you develop and implement a plan to achieve certification.

K2’s compliance team can help you get through the process of CMMC compliance readiness. Our team of specialists assists you in eliminating siloed data, obtaining insight into attackers’ behaviors, and developing cyber resilience to fulfill DoD standards.

If you are interested in becoming CMMC certified or would like more information, please contact KT Tech Group today.